Driving under the influence or DUI is a grave offense that has life-altering consequences upon conviction. The state of Colorado takes each DUI case seriously, wherein the penalties get tougher with each repeated violation.
If you have been arrested for or charged with DUI in Colorado, especially if it’s your first offense, it’s highly crucial that you find an experienced attorney immediately. But if you’re wondering what happens for your first DUI offense, here’s what you need to know:
On your first DUI offense, you have to pay a fine of $600 to $1,000 and spend 5 days up to a year in the county jail. You may also spend a minimum of 10 days of mandatory jail time if your blood alcohol content was 0.2g/100ml or more. You will also need to complete 48 to 96 hours of community service.
Additionally, your license may be revoked for up to 9 months and receive 12 DMV points. On top of that, you may also be required to take alcohol education classes and install an ignition interlock device in your car for up to 9 months.
However, if your blood alcohol content scored 0.15% or higher, you will be classified as a persistent drunk driver even if it’s your first offense. On the other hand, offenders under 21 may get their license revoked for a minimum of 3 months up to a year.
How Can a DUI Conviction Impact Your Life?
The aftermath of a DUI conviction can be tough. Even if you finished serving your sentence and complied with all penalties ruled by the court, you will still likely face lifetime consequences such as:
- Losing your job
- Paying higher auto insurance rates
- Struggle in finding a job, especially one that requires driving
- Losing academic opportunities like financial aid or college applications
These scenarios can be avoided if the charges can be dropped altogether. That’s why it’s important to hire a well-experienced DUI attorney in Colorado that can handle your case with confidence.
Turn to Maher & Maher Law, PC
Your search for an experienced DUI lawyer in Colorado ends at Maher & Maher Law, PC. We have reputable drunk driving lawyers that can handle your case and do everything they can to help you during this trying time. For more inquiries or to learn more about what happens for your first DUI offense, you may call us at (719) 301-7500.